The Corner of “Can” and “Will”.

I was walking our dog this morning and I kept looking back to see the sunrise. That’s one of my favorite things, to watch the sun rise. I was walking away from it but that didn’t change the fact that I knew it was coming. Even though I didn’t have to look at it to believe the sun was coming up, I wanted to see it. I knew it was happening because everything was becoming brighter and lighter. So at the moment of “peak” I stopped on the corner to watch it in hopes of capturing a perfect picture. I had a choice: I could keep walking and miss it or I could stop for a minute and catch it. Either way, the sun was DEFINITELY coming up. My decision either way wouldn’t stop it but my decision would determine whether I got to enjoy the blessing of seeing what I believed would happen, happen. 20141001_073148 I am SO glad I stopped.

That’s the way FAITH is with our lives. We find ourselves often in situations we can do absolutely nothing about. Things are definitely NOT easy. I mean at this age, did you plan for your life to be like it is? I sure didn’t! So we find ourselves at a crossroads…a “corner”, if you will. We can become depressed, despondent and disappointed and step into that dark place of believing we’ve been let down, forgotten, life isn’t fair…and survive it thinking it will never get better. That attitude may be justified but it grows anger, bitterness, resentfulness and distance from God. If He’s good and controls everything, and loves us, why does He allow such pain and despair? Here’s a real theological answer for you:  I DON’T know. I DO know this world is not heaven, He IS in control and He affords the opportunity through WHATEVER the circumstance to show us Himself.

So here we are. We know He CAN do whatever we need Him to do…but do we believe He WILL? Do you turn the corner in your heart to go closer to Him or in your time of great heartache choose to walk the other way?

This I do know: He wastes nothing, not even the horrible. Even then, I have found Him to be the One source of comfort, caring, mercy and love. I choose NO MATTER WHAT to turn to Him because of His track record! I look back sometimes to see what He has seen me through, and choose not to dwell on the bad things, the unfair things, but I choose to dwell on HIS faithfulness. He could have left me in the mud and mayhem but He didn’t. After calling to Him and depending on Him more times than I can count, He could have said “sorry little girl, you’ve exceeded the amount of grace I am willing to give” because believe me…I have needed a LOT. Not only that, I choose to believe what He says daily and believe His word applies to me personally!

If you find yourself standing on that corner of decision, I pray you’ll choose stepping in the CAN on your way to HE WILL. No matter what you see or feel choose to believe. That opens the door and allows Him the freedom to come in and show you what you wouldn’t have seen otherwise. Only believe.

2 thoughts on “The Corner of “Can” and “Will”.

Leave a Reply

