Why Do We Walk the Dog?

Every morning, no matter what my schedule is, I walk our Sampson.  He loves our routine. He gets a toy (usually his favorite, “bear-bear”) and off we go. Some of my days are chocked full of things I have to do and on this particular day, I was in a tiz. So little time, so many things to take care of. I started not to walk him then I looked out on the porch and there he was, tail wagging, bear-bear in mouth, staring at the door, waiting. How could I not? We started down the sidewalk and I found myself robbing him of the enjoyment of stopping and sniffing and exploring. “Hurry.” “Come on.” I thought to myself “I’ve done my part. I walked him but it can’t be like it usually is. We have to hurry. Too much to do…”

I stopped dead in my tracks and remembered what I had forgotten when we started. This walk is about HIM – not me. I do this FOR him. Not me. If he can’t enjoy it, there’s really no point in walking! I was on the verge of stealing his pleasure and making it all about me!

Sometimes we decide to do something and mean well but the joy and pleasure is taken making it about us. We don’t mean to, but circumstances get in the way and we resort to making it about us, our load and our mission. It’s good to be responsible for your stuff but when your responsibilities override the heart of the matter, there’s a problem.

With all we all have on us these days, protect your peace. Cover your own heart in prayer. Keep your motives righteous. The Lord (if you have a relationship with Him) will help you with that – actually HE gives the ability to discern why you do what you do. He only sees the motive behind the action, no matter what it looks like. Others see the action, He sees the only thing that matters to Him – the core of why we do what we do.

Now that I have two jobs, a house to take care of and all that goes with that, I have to remember why I walk Sampson. I walk him because I want what’s best for him. I want him to enjoy that special time he looks so forward to. I walk him, for him! Take a minute and remember why you do what you do.

Let’s go for a walk!

Leave a Reply

