Exercising Hope

One of the greatest delights and desires of my heart this time of year is to see hummingbirds.  As I’ve said many times I believe they’re tiny angels.  I marvel at them.  When I lived in Alabama they showed up in abundance and I had my work area set up so that I could watch them from dawn until dusk.  Since I moved here, sadly, I have only seen them when I’ve visited my friends.  Only ONE hummingbird visited my house and that was the year before last!  To say I was disappointed would be an understatement.

There are probably several reasons for that.  I moved three times my first year here, all under less than favorable circumstances.  Perhaps they couldn’t find me.  Maybe if I could have consistently stayed where I was, they would have come. I would try putting the feeders here and there – always moving them and always being disappointed.

I remembered this morning reading a story about hummingbirds.  If they live they always come back to where they visited the previous year.  Always. So I place partial blame on me that I didn’t get the blessing of the hummers and yet have to wonder if perhaps they never came to those places.  Last year, I didn’t put feeders out.  I gave up.  I didn’t believe they would come so I made the decision to do nothing.

Don’t ever stop believing. Keep going to scriptures that encourage and help you believe and SEE that God IS busy whether His activity manifests itself externally or not.

I put feeders out this morning and prayed while doing it for two reasons:  1) The Bible says to pray about everything and 2) I was physically exhibiting the HOPE that I would see hummingbirds this year and FAITH that God is going to bless my prayers and those little earth-angels WILL come. HOPE is a VERB – it means to wait, tarry, EXPECT.

Guess what I just saw.  My heart is full and tears flood my eyes as I type this. What a lesson…and a blessing.

Romans 5:5  “and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.”

 

Leave a Reply

