I Just Want to See

For the past few months I’ve been without glasses and couldn’t afford to get my eyes checked.  Thanks to getting a full time job complete with insurance benefits, when I received my cards I called and made an appointment.  Thank you Lord!

After the exam, I began the quest of picking out frames.  Folks, I get overwhelmed in the cereal isle at the grocery store.  So many choices, too many if you ask me.  If I don’t stick with my favorite brand I get so flustered that I leave without any cereal.

That’s how I felt when I tried to pick out frames.  There were literally thousands to choose from and I was overwhelmed.  I just want to see; I want a little help for my face (it needs all the help it can get) but with all these choices how will I ever choose one pair?  What if I choose the wrong ones?  What if I don’t find any?

I kept searching and found several pairs and another problem arose.  I like them all! I want them all!  My want was out of control which brought on the anxiety of having to make a choice.  I told the lady helping me to pick for me and of course, based on her commission, she chose the most expensive frame which caused me more anxiety because they were way more than I had budgeted to spend!

Two lessons came from that experience:   1)  MAKE YOUR OWN CHOICES.  Sometimes we’re faced with life-changing decisions and the choice we make matters a lot.  Thank God this wasn’t a life-changing decision but it was an important one.  I reminded myself of the fundamental need – I just want to see.  I don’t have to go beyond what God has blessed me with.  He provided for my need with the job with insurance – I just need to be able to see.  Chill.  Get what is best for you – within your means.

2)  WATCH OUT FOR FEELINGS.  While shopping for frames, I saw what I could have even if I had to make some sacrifices for them.  All I needed was what I needed.  Sometimes God’s provision is overlooked in that He always provides for our needs, not necessarily for our wants.  Every day we’re fighting a very powerful foe – ourselves and our feelings.  When we let feelings take over we can make decisions based on how we feel rather than what we need.

I just want to see.  That’s it.  When I calmed myself down and made my decision, lo and behold, I got a pair of designer frames for $12!!!!!!!!! They are exactly what I wanted, they’re perfect for me, and they help my chipmunk-cheek face.  BOOM!  I promptly thanked God for providing my needs and the beautiful frames and for letting me see in all kinds of ways.

Leave a Reply

