Heart Problems

It’s time to come clean with my friends.  I’ve been hiding something for a long time. For as long as I can remember, life has dealt some harsh blows. Mom told me I was born prematurely and suffered some lung problems as well as colon problems.  Once on an x-ray, the radiologist commented “the patient has a rather small heart”.  As a result I have had life-long asthma.

Growing up, I saw my parents divorce, my mother attempted suicide, experienced instability and a lot of sadness but those things were mixed in with a lot of love.

As an adult, I’ve gone through my own divorces, bad relationships, bad decisions, been treated wrongly, treated others wrongly, the birth of a severely brain-injured child and raising him pretty much by myself, alcoholism…the list goes on and on.  We’d be here all day if I listed them all.

What’s missing here?  ALL THE GOOD!  We tend to call up the bad more than we remember the good.  Bad things that happen often become milestones for where a change occurred…or it didn’t.

In each of those things I named above, my heart was involved and they affected me greatly.  We all have things that have “hurt our hearts”, thus the damage we’re left with.  The residual…and what we do with it…has a great effect on how we live, love and serve.

Sometimes we think the damage is too great, we feel we can’t recover and we’ll never be the same.

Heart problems.

We can’t see the damage done but we can feel it.  Our minds rehearse it.  If a doctor could look at our souls and spirits and perhaps do some kind of diagnostic test, I wonder if the scars would look like.  Truth is, our God sees, feels and knows every single one of them.  When you feel them, He does, too.

I’m submitting myself for some heart surgery with the Great Physician.  I have been for some time.  That’s our only chance of real healing.  He’s our cure.

We go to doctors and they give us medicine and advice on how to help and sometimes cure our physical problems.  Why don’t we do the same with our heart/soul/spirit problems?  What heart problems do you have?  Will you allow God to do “surgery” or will you just keep suffering with them?

1st Samuel 16:7:  “But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at the height of his stature, because I have rejected him; for God sees not as man sees, for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”

Psalm 51:10:  “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.”

Leave a Reply

