Just Go!

sampsons-new-friendNestled in one of my favorite places I rediscovered the old riding stables at our state park. I hadn’t driven up that road in years and had forgotten how beautiful that spot was.  On that day, no one was there but me and my dog so I parked and let him out to run and play next to the water.  The stables up the hill brought back a flood of memories.

I kept looking up the hill at the stables thinking about how sad they were no longer being used.  I saw no point to walk up there but Sampson had different ideas.  Up the hill he went and I followed him.

We got up to the stables and the smells of the area ignited his hunter instinct.  He was going to each closed stall, sticking his nose in where he found the opportunity.  He was onto something but I thought it was the smell of what used to be there that enticed him.  He went to one particular stall and started whimpering, scratching the ground to get in.  When I got close I heard why.  The stables weren’t abandoned at all, there were horses there!

I have always loved horses.  Imagine my delight (and Sampson’s) when we saw them.  I opened the top gate of the stalls, petted all of them.  It may sound silly to you, but I was so happy!  Few and far between are my opportunities to be close to these beautiful animals I love so much. I consider that a very personal blessing from my Father, who knows His girl so well.  By just walking up that hill I received a tremendous, custom-made blessing, just for me. #perspective

That’s my point.  Based on what I SAW, there was no reason to even trudge up that hill. I had convinced myself there was no reason to go.  I could have called Sampson back to me, gotten him in the car and missed a great blessing.  Instead I went and oh, the pleasure in the time we were there was wonderful.

That’s your word, friend.  Just go! Don’t sum things up based on what you see.   Don’t look for reasons not to do something (we always find plenty of them); look for reasons TO go.  Do it just for you.  You’ll be glad you did.

1st Corinthians 2:9:  “but just as it is written, “Things which eye has not seen and ear has not heard and which have not entered the heart of man, all that God has prepared for those who love Him.””

Leave a Reply

